Press Room

INMA announces finalists for 2024 Global Media Awards

5 March 2024

DALLAS (5 March 2024) – INMA today announced 192 finalists in the 2024 INMA Global Media Awards, highlighting themes around the use of AI in newsroom innovation, promoting the public good campaigns, reaching younger audiences, sports, the war in Ukraine, and user engagement.

INMA’s annual awards competition garnered 771 entries from 245 news brands in 43 countries, with finalists coming from Africa, Asia/Pacific, Europe, Latin America, South Asia, and North America.

Click here for finalist list

Companies that dominated the INMA shortlist include Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. (BCCL), Bonnier News, Jagran Prakashan, Mediahuis, News Corp, Russmedia, Stuff, and Schibsted. Leading the finalist list were entries from The United States (26), India (24), Germany (22), Sweden (16), Norway (13), and New Zealand (11).

In its 87th year of rewarding excellence in the news media industry, the 2024 INMA Global Media Awards include 20 categories across two segments — national/international and regional. The categories focus on seven topic areas: excellence in news brands, media features, product, subscriptions, advertising and commerce, newsrooms, and AI.

One first place, second place, and third place will be awarded for each of the 20 categories within each segment. In some cases, judges may omit awards or advise additional awards.

First-place winners, regional winners, and the global “Best In Show” will be unveiled April 25 at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London, as the culmination of the INMA World Congress of News Media being held April 22-26.

“This year’s Global Media Awards was highly competitive, with emerging themes focusing on breakthroughs in AI, newsrooms, young readers, and more,” said Earl J. Wilkinson, executive director and CEO of INMA. “This class of finalists represent the best in the business of news, and we are proud to champion the mission of outstanding journalism.”

Some 60 media experts from 23 countries judged the entries in February, evaluating on breakthrough results, unique concepts, strong creativity, innovative thinking, and winning synergies across platforms.

The 771 entries in this year’s Global Media Awards competition are live on in the association’s Best Practices archive. Finalists may be viewed publicly, while all other entries are reserved exclusively for INMA members.

INMA has 8,800+ best practices from the past decade of Global Media Awards competitions, sortable to finalists and winners, category, year, and country.

Winners in the INMA Global Media Awards competition will be announced during the World Congress of News Media in London on April 25.

About International News Media Association (INMA)

The International News Media Association (INMA) is a global community of market-leading news media companies reinventing how they engage audiences and grow revenue. The INMA community consists of more than 21,000 members at 1,000+ news media companies in 94 countries. INMA is the news media industry’s foremost ideas-sharing network with members connected via conferences, reports, Webinars, virtual meetings, an unparalleled archive of best practices, and strategic initiatives focused on digital subscriptions, product and tech, generative AI, newsroom transformation, and the publisher relationships with Big Tech.




By continuing to browse or by clicking “ACCEPT,” you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance your site experience. To learn more about how we use cookies, please see our privacy policy.